Basket | Login


Three informative meetings for the EURO-FINGERS Advisory Board are held in January

Tuesday 19 January 2021

EURO-FINGERS (EU-FINGERS) is a JPND funded project led by Karolinska Institute in Sweden. The work of EU-FINGERS started in 2020 and will continue for two more years. EU-FINGERS will advance the understanding of, and the interventions for, the prevention of cognitive decline and Alzheimer’s dementia. An important outcome of this project will be the “Multimodal Precision Prevention Toolbox”. This Toolbox will include different sets of tools for researchers working in the area of brain health and prevention of Alzheimer’s dementia. The project has a Work Package dedicated to understanding and including in the project the views of people affected by Alzheimer’s and the general public. Part of this work involves setting up an Advisory Board composed of people affected by Alzheimer’s, people who have participated in prevention studies and lay people with an interest on this topic. This work is led by Alzheimer Europe in close collaboration with all project partners. The different organisations involved in EU-FINGERS identified in 2020 possible candidates for joining the Advisory Board. Three online informative meetings were organized on 8, 11 and 19 January. In these meetings, people interested in joining the Advisory Board received information about the project, the plans for the Advisory Board and were able to ask questions. The meetings were also attended by members of the EU-FINGERS team. A total of 15 people with an interest in the Advisory Board took part in these meetings. They will now be invited to formally join the Advisory Board. It is expected that the work of the Advisory Board will kick off in February 2021. From AE, Ana and Cindy participated in the informative meetings.

EURO-FINGERS is an EU Joint Programme - Neurodegenerative Disease Research (JPND) project. The project is supported through the following funding organisations under the aegis of JPND - Finland, Academy of Finland; Germany, Federal Ministry of Education and Research; Spain, National Institute of Health Carlos III; Luxemburg, National Research Fund; Hungary, National Research, Development and Innovation Office; The Netherlands, Netherlands Organisation for Health Research and Development; Sweden, Swedish Research Council.