Basket | Login


18 new MEPs to join the European Parliament in December

Wednesday 23 June 2010

The Inter-Governmental Conference that convened on 23 June approved an increase in the number of Members of the European Parliament.


This meeting is a transitional arrangement to the EU Treaty : it was convened because the last Parliament elections in 2009 were held under the Nice Treaty (the Lisbon Treaty had not been ratified yet). The Nice Treaty set the number of MEPs to 736 while the Lisbon Treaty sets the number of MEPs at 751.


18 new MEPs (Spain = 4 ; Austria, France and Sweden = 2 ; Bulgaria, Italy, Latvia, Malta, Poland, Slovenia, the Netherlands and the UK = 1) will thus join the European Parliament. Germany is allowed to keep its 3 extra MEPs during this mandate.


The Member States now have to ratify this protocol that will enter into force on 1 December 2010.