Basket | Login | Register


Ursula von der Leyen unveils Commissioners-designate

Tuesday 10 September 2019

Ursula von der Leyen, President-elect of the European Commission, has announced choices for the next College of Commissioners. Following approval of the nominees of each county by the European Council, Ms von der Leyen met with each individual before allocating their proposed remit within the future Commission. The Commissioners-designate will now face hearings by the European Parliament committees who have competence over each remit, at the end of September and beginning of October. The full College of Commissioners will then face a confirmatory vote in a plenary session of the European Parliament in the latter half of October. However, it is important to note that the following positions and individuals may change over the course of the coming weeks as the process continues.

The list of Commissioners, their countries and designated positions are as follows:

  • Executive Vice President, Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia): An "Economy that Works for People" and Commissioner for financial services.
  • Executive Vice President, Frans Timmermans (Netherlands): A “European Green Deal” and climate action policy.
  • Executive Vice President, Margrethe Vestager (Denmark): A "Europe fit for the digital age" and Commissioner for competition.

The five other Vice-Presidents are:

  • Josep Borrell (Spain): High Representative-designate for foreign policy and "A Stronger Europe in the World"
  • Věra Jourová (Czech Republic): Values and Transparency.
  • Margaritis Schinas (Greece): Protecting Our European Way of Life.
  • Maroš Šefčovič (Slovakia): Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight.
  • Dubravka Šuica (Croatia): Democracy and Demography.

Other commissioners-designate:

  • Johannes Hahn (Austria): Budget and Administration.
  • Didier Reynders (Belgium): Justice (including the topic of the rule of law).
  • Mariya Gabriel (Bulgaria): Innovation and Youth.
  • Stella Kyriakides (Cyprus): Health.
  • Kadri Simson (Estonia): Energy.
  • Jutta Urpilainen (Finland): International Partnerships.
  • Sylvie Goulard (France): Industrial policy, Digital Single Market.
  • László Trócsányi (Hungary): Neighbourhood and Enlargement.
  • Phil Hogan (Ireland): Trade.
  • Paolo Gentiloni (Italy): Economy.
  • Virginijus Sinkevičius (Lithuania): Environment and Oceans.
  • Nicolas Schmit (Luxembourg): Jobs.
  • Helena Dalli (Malta): Equality.
  • Janusz Wojciechowski (Poland): Agriculture.
  • Elisa Ferreira (Portugal): Cohesion and Reforms.
  • Rovana Plumb (Romania): Transport.
  • Janez Lenarčič (Slovenia): Crisis Management.
  • Ylva Johansson (Sweden): Home Affairs.

The full list of Commissioners-designate, their biographies and copies of the mission letters they received from Ursula von der Leyen, can be found here: