Basket | Login | Register


AGM elects new Board, says farewell to Helen Rochford-Brennan and welcomes Hungary as a full member

Monday 05 October 2020

Alzheimer Europe’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held online, on 5 October 2020. Chaired by Iva Holmerová, the meeting was attended by representatives of 28 out of 35 full member associations and 2 provisional member associations. Honorary Secretary Jim Pearson and Honorary Treasurer Maria do Rosário Zincke dos Reis provided an overview of the activities and finances of Alzheimer Europe in 2019. These were included in the published Annual Report, which was launched at the meeting.

You can read the annual report online, here:

You can download the PDF of the annual report, here: 

The members also proceeded to elect the new Board of the association which will be comprised of the following members for the 2020-2022 period:

Office bearers:

  • Chairperson: Iva Holmerová (Czech Republic), re-elected
  • Vice-Chairperson: Charles Scerri (Malta), re-elected
  • Honorary Secretary: James Pearson (Scotland, United Kingdom), re-elected
  • Honorary Treasurer: Marco Blom (Netherlands), newly elected to this position


  • Stefanie Becker (Switzerland), re-elected
  • René Friederici (Luxembourg), newly elected
  • Sabine Jansen (Germany), re-elected
  • Pat McLoughlin (Ireland), re-elected
  • Sirpa Pietikäinen (Finland), re-elected
  • Chris Roberts, Chairperson of the European Working Group of People with Dementia (EWGPWD), ex-officio Board member with full voting rights
  • Karin Westerlund (Sweden), re-elected
  • Maria do Rosário Zincke dos Reis (Portugal), re-elected.

Congratulations to all of them and a warm welcome to new Board members Chris Roberts and René Friederici. Outgoing Board member Jesús Rodrigo (Spain) did not stand for re-election. Alzheimer Europe and its Board would like to thank him for his service and contributions and wish him all the best.

The AGM voted to welcome Social Cluster Association (Hungary) as a full member of Alzheimer Europe, bringing the number to 36 full members, plus 3 provisional members.  

Following the election, there was an address by Helen Rochford-Brennan, who is stepping down as Chairperson of the EWGPWD, after four years in the position. She thanked Alzheimer Europe for supporting the EWGPWD and stressed the importance of representing people with dementia on the Board, stating that it had been her privilege to serve as an equal citizen with other Board members. She also spoke about the importance of being involved in research and of having national dementia working groups to empower people with dementia to share their experience and also to give hope to people when they are diagnosed.

The AGM also re-appointed “Auditeurs associés” as auditors for 2020-2022 and adopted the 2021 Work Plan and Budget. The next Annual General Meeting will take place in June 2021.