Basket | Login | Register

 
 
 
 

Plenary session - Prioritising dementia

Abstracts and presentations

Magda Aelvoet, Belgium, magda.aelvoet@telenet.be
Peter Ashley, United Kingdom, dementia@ashleyadsl.demon.co.uk
Jacques Brotchi, Belgium, Jacques.Brotchi@erasme.ulb.ac.be
Teresa di Fiandra, Italy, t.difiandra@sanita.it
Nick Fahy, Luxembourg, Nick.Fahy@ec.europa.eu
Joël Ménard, France, Joel.Menard@spim.jussieu.fr
Mike Splaine, USA, mike.splaine@alz.org

In recent years, awareness of the impact of dementia has increased and a number of governments have taken concrete actions to improve the situation of people with dementia and their carers. This is particularly the case in Norway, France and England where national Action Plans on Alzheimer’s disease or Dementia Strategies have been adopted. Under the French Presidency of the European Union, the Council of Ministers has also adopted far-reaching Presidency conclusions calling for greater pan-European research and increased collaboration between Member StateS

The round table chaired by former Belgian Health Minister Magda Aelvoet will explore how different countries are addressing the issue of dementia on a national level.

Belgian Senator Jacques Brotchi, Italian Health Ministry Representative Teresa di Fiandra and Joël Ménard, who was appointed by French President Sarkozy to develop the French Alzheimer’s Plan, will provide their insight on how dementia is dealt with by national governments. European Commission representative Nick Fahy will highlight those areas where the European Union can improve the collaboration between Member States. Peter Ashley, who has himself been diagnosed with dementia,will highlight his personal views and those of the Alzheimer’s Society on the development of the English Dementia Strategy. Finally, Mike Splaine from the American Alzheimer’s Association will provide examples of how dementia is prioritised outside of Europe.

 

 
 

Last Updated: mercredi 21 octobre 2009

 

 
 

Options

  • Send this page to a friend