Basket | Login | Register


October 2014: EWGPWD welcomes new members for second term of office

News & Activities

The European Working Group of People with Dementia (EWGPWD) began its second two-year term of office at a meeting held on 19 October 2014 in Glasgow. During this meeting, the group welcomed two new members (Helen Rochford Brennan from Ireland and Hilary Doxford from England) and also elected a Chairperson and three Vice-Chairpersons to the new Executive Board. The group expects to receive additional members in the near future.

Members of the EWGPWD (2014-2016)

Chairperson: Helga Rohra(Germany)
 Vice-Chairperson: Helen Rochford Brennan (Ireland)
 Vice-Chairperson: Hilary Doxford (UK - England)
 Vice-Chairperson: Agnes Houston (UK - Scotland)
Members:Nina Balackova (Czech Republic), Raoul Grönqvist (Finland).

The European Working Group of People with Dementia was launched by Alzheimer Europe and its member associations in early 2012. The group is composed entirely of people with dementia who are nominated by their national Alzheimer associations. They work to ensure that the activities, projects and meetings of Alzheimer Europe duly reflect the priorities and views of people with dementia. The group operates independently, with members electing their own Board and setting an agenda of activities. The Chairperson is also an ex-officio member on the Board of Alzheimer Europe with full voting rights.

During the group’s first term of office (2012-2014), the members of the EWGPWD actively participated in two Alzheimer Europe conferences and gave keynote presentations in the European Parliament. They attended various international dementia events and also gave numerous interviews, both in their countries and internationally.

The EWGPWD wishes to thank outgoing members Stig Atle Aavik (Norway), Dermod Slevin (Ireland) and Daphne Wallace (UK - England) for their strength, enthusiasm and determination during the first term of office of the group.



Last Updated: Tuesday 04 November 2014